Easiest and fastest way to setup Apache, PHP and MySQL!!!

xampp-logo Say hello to XAMPP!
Setting up these three packages on any system is no joke. I had managed to get Apache runnning and sql too. But for me, setting up PHP was a nightmare. Maybe it’s because I use Debian the setup is slightly different. I read countless tutorials, went to different forums and made changes to never ending configuration files. But all in vain. That was, until I came across this site http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html

Apache, PHP and MYSQL (with ProFTP) can be setup in the following manner for Linux –

1.) Download the XAMPP Package

2.) Install it using the following commands –

su

tar xvfz xampp-linux-1.5.1.tar.gz -C /opt

3.) Run the following command to start Xampp –

/opt/lampp/lampp start

That’s all! Believe it or not it works! For reading more documentation or getting more detailed information goto the Xampp Website

About synapse
Programming, motorcycles and photography. Want to do more, but only have time for so much!

4 Responses to Easiest and fastest way to setup Apache, PHP and MySQL!!!

  1. Hi it’s Kevin Shockey from TUX magazine. You blipped onto my Google Alert radar today through your post about TUX. Thanks for spreading the word…

    Also many thanks for this post. I was deparately looking for a solution like this to simply installing AMP. This opens a lot of new story ideas for us.

    Your blog looks great and has a lot of great tips. Keep up the great job!

  2. synapse says:

    I must say it is an honour that the editor of Tux Magazine was on my blog! Thank you very much for your appreciation. I have been a regular reader of Tux Magazine and I must say that yours is the only magazine that takes new Linux users into consideration. Tux has helped me solve common Linux problems and perform efficient administration of my system many times. Keep up the terrific work. Eagerly awaiting your next issue!

  3. Sanjay Kumar says:

    Thanks for your information.. i was seriously looking forward for such softwares which can combine all php+mysql+apache ….

    -Sanjay
    http://www.sansor.tk
    http://sansor.wordpress.com

  4. synapse says:

    You are welcome Sanjay. Glad I could help

Leave a Reply

