Save brightness setting on reboot in Debian Squeeze / Wheezy

I recently installed Debian Wheezy (testing version of Debian 6) on my laptop. Most of the things went smoothly except for a few minor quirks. I eventually switched to XFCE desktop because I wasn’t too big a fan of the new Unity Gnome look.

XFCE was great for speed and it got everything I needed done really well. There was, however, one very annoying issue. Everytime I set my laptop brightness it was lost after a reboot. After reading up online and scouring forums, I finally found the location where the brightness setting is saved.

Location

/sys/class/backlight

There were multiple entries under this directory and changing one of them wasn’t enough for my case. Your case maybe different. To try out a setting before making it permanent, try the following command (as root)

echo 5 > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness

If the above command brings a change in your screen brightness, then you are on the right track. To save the brightness across reboots, we make a change to our /etc/rc.local file using the following commands as root –

cd /etc

gedit rc.local

Just above "exit" statement in the file, add the following lines –

echo 950 > /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/brightness

echo 5 > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness

echo 5 > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video1/brightness

I added the above three lines as I had the entries acpi_video0, acpi_video1, and intel_backlight under my /sys/class/backlight folder. If you have different entries, then make appropriate substitutions above.

That’s it! Save the file and reboot. You should now have your brightness to the same level as you had left if before you rebooted.

.

About synapse
Programming, motorcycles and photography. Want to do more, but only have time for so much!

2 Responses to Save brightness setting on reboot in Debian Squeeze / Wheezy

  1. ale says:

    Karan muchas gracias tu solucion es la mejor, lejos de otras que encontre navegando, solucione el problema de manera rapida, facil y sencilla, gracias de nuevo

  2. weight loss says:

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A small number of my blog readers have complained about
    my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks
    great in Safari. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

Leave a Reply

